RSS

Reactions: A Message to Black Women in 1997

09 Aug

IMG_20170802_111349

Just so we know

Hello,

This is Charles L. Chatmon, author of The Depths of My Soul and The Voices of South Central. Years ago, under my AOL screen name of CChat66, I participated in a tribute to black women with three other gentlemen. We used my poem “A Message to Black Women” at the time in the chat room we frequented. The poem proved to be so successful, one of the men worked a deal with Net Noir when it was on AOL to reserve chat rooms called “Celebrity Spotlight” for the typing of the poem. Below are the reactions and powerful responses of  A Message to Black Women, now found in The Depths of My Soul. At the conclusion of the comments below, I’ll have some news for you regarding the poem and where you can get a copy of the book. Who knew that one little poem could set off such a firestorm of goodwill and love? (smile)

Take care.

Charles L. Chatmon

Net Noir 1997

August 9, 1997

Netnoir Online presents….

A Celebration of Black Women

You are cordially invited to receive the greatest gift a Black man can give a Black woman.

Email reactions from those who read the poem in its entirety – not to mention the three straight hours of IM’s I received) The screen names of those individuals who sent emails to me WILL NOT be posted for the sake of privacy. This is just to show you what one poem can do to help each one of us realize we need each other. Nuff said.

Let me thank you for your lovely poem and the sincerity that it holds. It’s so nice to know that there are some sensitive, loving, open and giving black men out there with such an attitude toward black women.

I think your poem is a wonderful tribute to women of color everywhere!!! Wish every Black woman had a Black man with your sensitivity and understanding.

Thank you for sharing with me. I love it.

It is not very often that I am speechless. I just don’t know what to say. Your poem had such lovely sentiment.

That is what is needed in today’s society, support. We CAN make it….TOGETHER.

It was truly wonderful, and it makes a sister’s heart joyful to know that there are still some brothers out there that really and truly love BLACK WOMEN!

It’s been a while since I read a poem which I LIKED immediately. Your poem A Message to Black Women was amazing. I don’t do poetry well…..but yours hit home and made me want to shout AMEN! How clear, touching, and yes, loving it was. I hope I find my Black king and when I do we will stand shoulder to shoulder and hand in hand. Thank you for a most wonderful gift.

Dear CChat66,
Thank you for making it easy to get to your poetry. I am enjoying reading and can see it is truly from your soul. Keep up the good work and continue to allow words of love to flow from your heart.

CC,
I so regret that I was not able to make it to the room for the real presentation of the poem. I had it forwarded to me. Not good to read at work and get all teary eyed. The poem reflected my reasoning why I will never give up on my black men.

Hello CChat66,
That was a dynamic, truly beautiful poem! Would love to read more of your poems. Truly excellent!

Thank you so much for sharing. I love it. Your are a very good poet. It shows that you write from your soul.

That is truly a very beautiful poem…..your delivery was great and your timing too.

The poem, “A Message to Black Women” was powerful and very informative. It gave me a sense of sweet understanding as a woman. It was like finally someone is saying the truth. I loved it. So thanks for your positive vibes.

Your poem was very inspiring as well as beautiful.

I found it to be very inspirational and passed it on to others, both male and female…….those who did not attend or attended late missed a treat.

This is just a quick message to let you know I enjoyed your gift of self expression. It inspired me to place pen to paper again. Thank you.

Thanks for such a nice poem. Nice to know we do have some true black men out there.

I was at the reading of your poem on Saturday evening and I must say I was extremely impressed. Very few Black men today have genuine respect and love for their Black women. It is refreshing to see that there are at least a few true black men still out there who feel the Black woman deserves some type of a tribute. Thank you again for your message of strength, pride, devotion, love, and respect for the Black woman.

Hello, I just wanted to let you know that I received a copy of your poem and it was very deep. I really enjoyed reading it.

Thank you for a positive message. I, and many of my friends, really needed that. What a welcome change from what we hear most from the ‘men’ we meet.

I am sure everyone was glad to see what you had to say. There was a great deal of interest, even after you signed off. It is a sad commentary that we are still going after each other’s throats. There are some very unhappy people and it seems to perpetuate itself. Thank you for the love you expressed in your poetry and for your words of encouragement and gratitude. It warms my spirit.

From one of the moderators on Net Noir:

NetNoir would like to thank you! Your tribute was beautiful.

I notice that there were 2 other rooms (one with 48 and one with 10) of people trying to get in to ‘hear’ your words. (big smile)

One man responded:
 I want to do something special for that special Black lady in my life. I was not able to attend to get the poem live because we were enjoying the sun setting behind the Statue of Liberty from the Staten Island Ferry. Would you please send me the poem so that I may present it to her? (to the moderator of NetNoir – forwarded to me)

So now that you’ve read the many positive and encouraging messages to me, you must be wondering where can I find this “A Message to Black Women”?

The Depths of My Soul – found only on www.charleslchatmon.com or Amazon.com (Depths) (Voices) and other online bookstores. (2017: as of this reposting, only a few copies of the Depths left, but I can make copies of the poem for you by request)

Thanks for the ongoing support. I hope to hear from you soon. Take care.

Charles L. Chatmon
Author
The Depths of My Soul
The Voices of South Central

www.charleslchatmon.com

Trust me, I was THAT CChat66@aol.com…..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 9, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
